Close this search box.

Former Board Directors

Former Board Directors

These outstanding individuals, also from diverse backgrounds, have played and continue to play an essential role in the Institute’s growth.  

Amb. Ritva Koukku-Ronde

Chaiperson (2011)

Finnish Ambassador

Amb. Anne Sipiläinen

Chairperson (2011 – 2015)

Finnish Ambassador

Amb. Kari Alanko

Chairperson (2015 – 2018)

Finnish Ambassador 

Amb. Kristiina Kuvaja-Xanthopoulos

Chairperson (2018 – 2020)

Finnish Ambassador

Hon. Stergomena Lawrence Tax

Chairperson (2021), Director (2017 – 2021)

Minister for Defence and National Service in the United Republic of Tanzania; Former Executive Secretary of the Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Prof. Idris Kikula

Vice Chairperson (2018 – 2020), Director (2011 – 2018)

Chairman of the Tanzania Mining Commission; Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Dodoma

Mr. Philemon Luhanjo

Director (2011 – 2016)

Former Chief Secretary of the President of the United Republic of Tanzania

Amb. John Haule

Director (2011 – 2016)

Former High Commissioner of Tanzania to Kenya, South Sudan, Sychelles, Somalia, Eritrea, UNEP and UN-Habitat

Amb. Elsie Kanza

Director (2011 – 2016)

Ambassador of Tanzania to the United States of America; Former Special Advisor to the President of the World Economic Forum

Dr. Christina Duarte

Director (2017 – 2020)

Under-Secretary-General and Special Advisor on Africa to the United Nations Secretary General; Former Minister of Finance and Planning in the Republic of Cabo Verde

Prof. Glenn Denning

Director (2011 – 2016)

Professor of Professional Practice at Columbia University’s School of International and Public Affairs 

Dr. Frannie Léautier

Director (2011 – 2016)

Senior Partner and CEO of SouthBridge Investments; Former Vice President of World Bank Institute

Ms. Hadeel Ibrahim

Director (2011 – 2014)

Founding Executive Director of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Ms. Anneli Temmes

Director (2011 – 2016)

Emerita Director General of Finnish Institute of Public Management (HAUS)

Prof. Joseph Semboja

Ex Officio Member (2011 – 2020)

Former CEO of UONGOZI Institute